The Company

 

Norman MacLachlan (pictured left) and Frank Donaldson (1928 – 2007) in 1972. The latter retired from the practice in 1987.

The firm was founded on January 1 1967 by Norman MacLachlan, a Chartered Patent Agent and Trade Mark Agent.  In 1970 Frank Donaldson, also a Chartered Patent Agent, with long experience in the profession in London, joined the firm, creating the partnership of MacLachlan & Donaldson in 1972.  By providing an efficient, cost-effective service, based upon a professional yet personal relationship with clients and associates, the firm expanded rapidly over the next decade to become one of Ireland’s largest IP firms.

Since 1968 the offices of the firm occupied a substantial and elegant building in the historic area known as Georgian Dublin. The offices were situated in a block of buildings which for 71 years included the Irish Patents Office, before it moved to Kilkenny in 1998, and many other professional and legal firms. Opposite was the scenic Merrion Square Park, on the other side of which stood the Irish Parliament and adjacent Government buildings.

Our previous corporate brand of the Georgian door

In 1987 the firm adopted a Georgian door as its corporate brand as a symbol of its position in the heart of Dublin. The firm retained this trade mark for the next 26 years until the logo was rebranded in 2013 but the fanlight above the door of the old brand provided the inspiration for the firm’s new logo.

In 1996 the firm acquired the IP practice of Dermot P Cummins & Co. and in  2002 we formed a strategic alliance with Ansons, one of Northern Ireland’s largest IP firms, enabling us to offer services across the island of Ireland.  In 2010 the firm converted to limited company status.

In 2013, the firm moved to  new offices at 2b Clonskeagh Square, Clonskeagh Road, Dublin 14, which are bright, modern and spacious and have ample parking for clients.